Orange County Council

OCBSA Master Events Calendar

The following is the master events calendar for the Orange County Council Boy Scouts of America.  The calendar below is intended to serve as a tool for units, districts, and organizations within to understand the Council master plan and to ensure we DO NOT overschedule other Council Wide events.  This calendar does NOT replace our scoutingevent.com aka black pug calendar for registration and may NOT have duplicate entries for events hosted there.

Approval is required to calendar a Council Wide event, see below.

February 2023

Sunday February 5

Scout Sunday

Wednesday February 8

Boy Scouts of America Birthday

Thursday February 9

District Roundtables
Recurs monthly

Friday February 10

Tentative: Campcard Training

Saturday February 11

National Camping School: Short Term Camp Administrator
Scout Sabbath

Tuesday February 14

Valentine's Day

Observance
To hide observances, go to Google Calendar Settings > Holidays in United States

Friday February 17 – Sunday February 19

Trade O Ree

Saturday February 18

Tentative: Campcard Training

Monday February 20

President's Day Office Closed
Presidents' Day

Public holiday

Wednesday February 22

Tentative: Campcard Training

March 2023

Wednesday March 1

First Day of Women's History Month

Observance
To hide observances, go to Google Calendar Settings > Holidays in United States

Saturday March 4

Council Dinner Honoring our 2022 Silver Beavers and Eagle Scouts

Monday March 6

Laylat al Bara’a, Islam
Purim

Wednesday March 8

Holi, Hindi

Thursday March 9

District Roundtables & Campcard Distribution

Friday March 10 – Sunday March 12

RSJ Camporee

Sunday March 12

Daylight Saving Time starts

Observance
To hide observances, go to Google Calendar Settings > Holidays in United States

Tuesday March 14

Nanakshahi, Sikh

Friday March 17 – Saturday March 18

O/A March Induction

Friday March 17

St. Patrick's Day

Observance
To hide observances, go to Google Calendar Settings > Holidays in United States

Sunday March 19

Golden West District Dinner

Friday March 24 – Sunday March 26

Pacifica Camporee

Friday March 24

Ramadan

Friday March 31 12:00 am – Sunday April 2 5:00 pm

Golden West Camporee

Friday March 31

Ramadan

April 2023

Sunday April 2 – Saturday April 8

Holy Week, Christian

Sunday April 2

Palm Sunday, Christian

Wednesday April 5

Passover, Jewish

Friday April 7

Good Friday Office Closed
Ramadan

Sunday April 9 – Saturday April 15

Holy Week, Eastern Orthodox

Sunday April 9

Easter Sunday

Observance
To hide observances, go to Google Calendar Settings > Holidays in United States

Easter, Christian

Easter, Christian

Palm Sunday, Eastern Orthodox

Monday April 10

Easter Monday

Observance
To hide observances, go to Google Calendar Settings > Holidays in United States

Thursday April 13

District Roundtables
Recurs monthly

Friday April 14

Birth of Guru Nanak Sahib, Sikh
Holy Friday, Eastern Orthodox;
Khalsa Day, Sikh
Ramadan

Sunday April 16

Pascha, Eastern Orthodox

Tuesday April 18

Tax Day

Observance
To hide observances, go to Google Calendar Settings > Holidays in United States

Friday April 21 – Saturday April 22

Eid al Fitr, Islam

Friday April 21 – Sunday April 23

El Camino Real Camporee

Friday April 21 – Sunday April 23

Saddleback Camporee

Friday April 21 – Sunday April 23

Valencia Camporee

Friday April 21

Ridvan, First Day, Baha’I

Friday April 28 – Sunday April 30

Canyons Zomboree

May 2023

Monday May 1

First Day of Asian Pacific American Heritage Month

Observance
To hide observances, go to Google Calendar Settings > Holidays in United States

Friday May 5

Cinco de Mayo

Observance
To hide observances, go to Google Calendar Settings > Holidays in United States

Saturday May 6

University of Scouting

Thursday May 11

District Roundtables

Sunday May 14

Mother's Day

Observance
To hide observances, go to Google Calendar Settings > Holidays in United States

Friday May 19 – Sunday May 21

O/A May Induction

Thursday May 25 – Saturday May 27

Shavuot, Jewish

Monday May 29

Memorial Day

Public holiday

Memorial Day Office Closed

June 2023

Thursday June 1

First Day of LGBTQ+ Pride Month

Observance
To hide observances, go to Google Calendar Settings > Holidays in United States

Sunday June 4

Ghallughara Day, Sikh

Thursday June 8

District Roundtables & Campcard Turn In (FINAL)

Friday June 9 12:00 am – Sunday June 11 5:00 pm

O/A June Induction

Monday June 12 – Friday June 16

South Day Camp

Monday June 12

NSB Summer Programs Week 1
OEC Adventure Day Camps Week 1

Wednesday June 14

Flag Day

Observance
To hide observances, go to Google Calendar Settings > Holidays in United States

Friday June 16

Guru Arjan Sahib Martyrdom Day, Sikh

Sunday June 18

Father's Day

Observance
To hide observances, go to Google Calendar Settings > Holidays in United States

Monday June 19

Juneteenth

Public holiday

Juneteenth Office Closed
NSB Summer Programs Week 2
OEC Adventure Day Camps Week 2

Sunday June 25

Lost Valley Summer Camp Week 1

Monday June 26

Lost Valley Summer Camp Week 1
NSB Summer Programs Week 3
OEC Adventure Day Camps Week 3

OEC Adventure Day Camps Week 1

Wednesday June 28 – Thursday June 29

Eid al Adha, Islam

July 2023

Sunday July 2

Lost Valley Summer Camp Week 2

Lost Valley Summer Camp Week 1

Monday July 3

Lost Valley Summer Camp Week 2
NSB Summer Programs Week 4 (4 Days)

NSB Summer Programs Week 1

OEC Adventure Day Camps Week 4 (4 Days)

Tuesday July 4

4th of July Office Closed
Independence Day

Public holiday

Wednesday July 5

IROEC Cub-O-Saurus

Cub Resident Camp

Saturday July 8

O/A Lodge BBQ

Sunday July 9

Lost Valley Summer Camp Week 3

Monday July 10 – Friday July 14

North Day Camp

Monday July 10

Lost Valley Summer Camp Week 3
NSB Summer Programs Week 5
OEC Adventure Day Camps Week 5

Thursday July 13

District Roundtables
Recurs monthly

Sunday July 16

Lost Valley Summer Camp Week 4

Monday July 17

Lost Valley Summer Camp Week 4

Lost Valley Summer Camp Week 1

NSB Summer Programs Week 6
OEC Adventure Day Camps Week 6

Wednesday July 19 – Friday July 28

National Jamboree

Sunday July 23

Lost Valley Summer Camp Week 5

Monday July 24 – Friday July 28

Central Day Camp

Monday July 24

Lost Valley Summer Camp Week 5
NSB Summer Programs Week 7
OEC Adventure Day Camps Week 7

Tuesday July 25 12:00 am – Wednesday July 26 5:00 pm

Tisha B’Av. Jewish

Monday July 31

NSB Summer Programs Week 8

NSB Summer Programs Week 1

OEC Adventure Day Camps Week 8

August 2023

Thursday August 3 – Saturday August 12

World Jamboree

Monday August 7

NSB Summer Programs Week 9

Monday August 14

NSB Summer Programs Week 10

Tuesday August 15

Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary, Eastern Orthodox

September 2023

Monday September 4

Labor Day

Public holiday

Labor Day Office Closed

Friday September 8 – Sunday September 10

O/A Pow Wow

Friday September 15 – Sunday September 17

Rosh Hashanah

Friday September 15 – Sunday September 17

Wood Badge Weekend #1

Friday September 15

First Day of Hispanic Heritage Month

Observance
To hide observances, go to Google Calendar Settings > Holidays in United States

Saturday September 23

Scout-o-Rama

Sunday September 24 – Monday September 25

Yom Kippur, Jewish

Tuesday September 26 12:00 am – Wednesday September 27 5:00 pm

Mawlid an Nabi, Islam

Friday September 29 12:00 am – Saturday September 30 5:00 pm

Sukkot, Jewish

Saturday September 30 – Sunday October 1

Wood Badge Weekend #2

October 2023

Monday October 9

Columbus Day

Public holiday

Indigenous Peoples' Day

Observance
To hide observances, go to Google Calendar Settings > Holidays in United States

Friday October 13 12:00 am – Saturday October 14 5:00 pm

O/A October Induction

Sunday October 15 12:00 am – Monday October 16 5:00 pm

Birth of the Bab, Baha’I

Monday October 16 12:00 am – Tuesday October 17 5:00 pm

Birth of Baha’u’llah, Baha’I

Thursday October 19

RSJ Webelos Transition Fair

Friday October 20 12:00 am – Sunday October 22 5:00 pm

Pacifica Camperall

Friday October 20 12:00 am – Sunday October 22 5:00 pm

Saddleback Camporall

Friday October 20

Gurgaddi, Sikh

Saturday October 28

Tentative: Chartered Organization Representative Training

Tuesday October 31

Halloween

Observance
To hide observances, go to Google Calendar Settings > Holidays in United States

November 2023

Wednesday November 1

First Day of American Indian Heritage Month

Observance
To hide observances, go to Google Calendar Settings > Holidays in United States

Sikh Genocide, Sikh

Friday November 3 – Sunday November 5

National Youth Leadership Training-Fall Session 1 of 2

Friday November 3 12:00 am – Sunday November 5 4:00 pm

RSJ Camperall

Saturday November 4

Day of Service

Sunday November 5

Daylight Saving Time ends

Observance
To hide observances, go to Google Calendar Settings > Holidays in United States

Tuesday November 7

Election Day

Observance
To hide observances, go to Google Calendar Settings > Holidays in United States

Friday November 10 – Sunday November 12

National Youth Leadership Training-Fall Session 2 of 2

Friday November 10

Veterans Day (substitute)

Public holiday

Saturday November 11

Veterans Day

Public holiday

Sunday November 12

Diwali, Hindi

Thursday November 23 12:00 am – Friday November 24 4:00 pm

Thanksgiving Office Closed

Thursday November 23

Thanksgiving Day

Public holiday

Friday November 24

Martyrdom of Guru Tegh Bahadur, Sikh
Native American Heritage Day

Observance
To hide observances, go to Google Calendar Settings > Holidays in United States

December 2023

Friday December 22

Office Closed

Sunday December 24

Christmas Eve

Observance
To hide observances, go to Google Calendar Settings > Holidays in United States

Christmas Eve, Christian

Monday December 25

Christmas Day

Public holiday

Christmas Office Closed
Christmas, Christian

Tuesday December 26

Martyrdom of Baba Zorawar Singh, Sikh

Sunday December 31

New Year's Eve

Observance
To hide observances, go to Google Calendar Settings > Holidays in United States

January 2024

Monday January 1

New Year's Day

Public holiday

New Year's Day Office Closed

Saturday January 6

O/A Lodge Banquet

Monday January 15

Martin Luther King Jr. Day

Public holiday

February 2024

Thursday February 1

First Day of Black History Month

Observance
To hide observances, go to Google Calendar Settings > Holidays in United States

Approval is required to calendar a Council Wide event.  A Council Wide event is any event that either intends to have participation from Scouts or Scouters across our Council or is intended for broad participation in your District.  Please email outdoors@ocbsa.org to schedule a Council Wide event.

JOIN SCOUTING

Follow these 3 simple steps and begin your Scouting journey.

1

Find a Scouting Unit

Select your preferred program(s) (i.e., Cub Scouts, Scouts BSA, Venturing), enter your zip code, choose your nearest unit, and select APPLY NOW.

2

Complete a Youth Application

Create an account with my.scouting.org, complete the application, and make a payment.

3

Start Scouting!

Download the My Scouting app, contact your unit’s leader, and begin your Scouting journey!

ScoutWeek Signup Form