Orange County Council

OCBSA Master Events Calendar

The following is the master events calendar for the Orange County Council Boy Scouts of America.  The calendar below is intended to serve as a tool for units, districts, and organizations within to understand the Council master plan and to ensure we DO NOT overschedule other Council Wide events.  This calendar does NOT replace our scoutingevent.com aka black pug calendar for registration and may NOT have duplicate entries for events hosted there.

Approval is required to calendar a Council Wide event, see below.

August 2022

Saturday August 20

Tenative: Popcorn Kickoff

Friday August 26 12:00 am – Sunday August 28 5:00 pm

O/A Pow Wow/Brotherhood #5

September 2022

Monday September 5

Labor Day Office Closed
Labor Day

Public holiday

Wednesday September 7

Golden West District Committee Meeting
Recurs monthly
Golden West District Commissioner's Cabinet
Recurs monthly
RSJ District Committee Meeting
Recurs monthly

Thursday September 8

District Roundtables
Recurs monthly

Friday September 9 – Sunday September 11

Wood Badge Weekend #1 of 2

Friday September 9 12:00 am – Sunday September 11 5:00 pm

Wood Badge Weekend #1

Thursday September 15

First Day of Hispanic Heritage Month

Observance
To hide observances, go to Google Calendar Settings > Holidays in United States

Friday September 16 – Sunday September 18

O/A Section and Area Conclave

Saturday September 17

Popcorn Show & Sell Pickup

Friday September 23 – Sunday September 25

HAT: Basic Backpacking Course

Saturday September 24 – Sunday September 25

Wood Badge Weekend #2

Saturday September 24

Valencia Recruitment Event
HAT: Desert Backpacking Course

Link to Register: https://scoutingevent.com/039-DesertBackpacking

Note there is also a Joshua Tree Park Overnight tentatively scheduled October 8-9

Sunday September 25 – Tuesday September 27

Rosh Hashanah

October 2022

Saturday October 1

Scout O Rama

Tuesday October 4 – Wednesday October 5

Yom Kippur

Wednesday October 5

Golden West District Committee Meeting
Recurs monthly
Golden West District Commissioner's Cabinet
Recurs monthly
RSJ District Committee Meeting
Recurs monthly

Friday October 7 – Sunday October 9

Valencia District Camporall

Staff Adviser: Todd Lassig
Volunteer:
District Event
Valencia District
Field Department

Saturday October 8

Chartered Organization Representative Traning

Sunday October 9 – Monday October 10

Sukkot

Monday October 10

Columbus Day

Public holiday

Indigenous Peoples' Day

Observance
To hide observances, go to Google Calendar Settings > Holidays in United States

Thursday October 13

District Roundtables
Recurs monthly

Friday October 14 – Sunday October 16

Canyons Camporall

Friday October 14 – Saturday October 15

O/A Induction Ordeal #4/Brotherhood #6

Friday October 14 – Sunday October 16

ECR District Camporall

Staff Adviser: Anthony Geukens
Volunteer:
District Event
El Camino Real District
Field Department

Friday October 14 – Sunday October 16

Saddleback District Camporall

Staff Adviser: Peter Jensen
Volunteer:
District Event
Saddleback District
Field Department

Thursday October 20

Gurgaddi, Sikh
RSJ Webelos Transistion Fair

Friday October 21 – Sunday October 23

Golden West Camporall

Friday October 21 – Sunday October 23

Pacifica Camporall

Monday October 24

Diwali, Hindi

Tuesday October 25 – Wednesday October 26

Birth of the Bab, Baha’i

Wednesday October 26 – Thursday October 27

Birth of Baha’u’llah, Baha’I

Friday October 28

Scouting Clays Shoot-Out

Staff Adviser: Alvin Phan
Major Gift Event
Development Department

Saturday October 29

Valencia Recruitment Event
HAT: Map & Compass

Monday October 31

Halloween

Observance
To hide observances, go to Google Calendar Settings > Holidays in United States

November 2022

Tuesday November 1

Sikh Genocide, Sikh
First Day of American Indian Heritage Month

Observance
To hide observances, go to Google Calendar Settings > Holidays in United States

Wednesday November 2

Golden West District Committee Meeting
Recurs monthly
Golden West District Commissioner's Cabinet
Recurs monthly
RSJ District Committee Meeting
Recurs monthly

Friday November 4 – Sunday November 6

RSJ Camperall

Saturday November 5

Day of Service

Sunday November 6

Daylight Saving Time ends

Observance
To hide observances, go to Google Calendar Settings > Holidays in United States

Tuesday November 8

Election Day

Observance
To hide observances, go to Google Calendar Settings > Holidays in United States

Thursday November 10

Valencia: AOL to Scout Transition Fair
District Roundtables
Recurs monthly

Friday November 11

Veterans Day

Public holiday

Saturday November 12

Popcorn Take Order Pick Up

Thursday November 24 – Friday November 25

Thanksgiving Office Closed

Thursday November 24

Martyrdom of Guru Tegh Bahadur, Sikh
Thanksgiving Day

Public holiday

Friday November 25

Native American Heritage Day

Observance
To hide observances, go to Google Calendar Settings > Holidays in United States

December 2022

Wednesday December 7

Golden West District Committee Meeting
Recurs monthly
Golden West District Commissioner's Cabinet
Recurs monthly
RSJ District Committee Meeting
Recurs monthly

Thursday December 8

District Roundtables
Recurs monthly

Friday December 23

Office Closed

Saturday December 24

Christmas Eve
Christmas Eve

Observance
To hide observances, go to Google Calendar Settings > Holidays in United States

Sunday December 25

Christmas
Christmas Day

Public holiday

Monday December 26

Office Closed
Christmas Day (substitute)

Public holiday

Saturday December 31

New Year's Eve

Observance
To hide observances, go to Google Calendar Settings > Holidays in United States

January 2023

Sunday January 1

New Year's Day

Public holiday

Monday January 2

Office Closed
New Year's Day (substitute)

Public holiday

Wednesday January 4

Golden West District Committee Meeting
Recurs monthly
Golden West District Commissioner's Cabinet
Recurs monthly
RSJ District Committee Meeting
Recurs monthly

Thursday January 5

Guru Gobind Singh Sahib Birthday, Sikh

Saturday January 7

O/A Lodge Banquet
HAT: Non-Technical Ice Axe Course

Link to register: https://scoutingevent.com/039-NonTechIceAxe

Note a day hike in snow will be scheduled in January or February of 2023

HAT: Winter (Snowshoe) Backpacking Course

Thursday January 12

Saddleback District DInner
District Roundtables
Recurs monthly

Monday January 16

MLK Day Office Closed
Martin Luther King Jr. Day

Public holiday

Saturday January 21 – Sunday January 22

Pacifica Klondike Derby

Wednesday January 25

Golden West District Annual Meeting

Saturday January 28

Valencia District DInner

February 2023

Wednesday February 1

Golden West District Committee Meeting
Recurs monthly
Golden West District Commissioner's Cabinet
Recurs monthly
RSJ District Committee Meeting
Recurs monthly
First Day of Black History Month

Observance
To hide observances, go to Google Calendar Settings > Holidays in United States

Saturday February 4

TENTATIVE: Council Recognition Dinner

Sunday February 5

Scout Sunday

Wednesday February 8

Boy Scouts of America Birthday

Thursday February 9

District Roundtables
Recurs monthly

Friday February 10

Tentative: Campcard Training

Saturday February 11

Scout Sabbath

Tuesday February 14

Valentine's Day

Observance
To hide observances, go to Google Calendar Settings > Holidays in United States

Wednesday February 15

Pacifica Annual Meeting

Friday February 17 – Sunday February 19

Trade O Ree

Saturday February 18

Tentative: Campcard Training

Monday February 20

President's Day Office Closed
Presidents' Day

Public holiday

Wednesday February 22

Tentative: Campcard Training

March 2023

Wednesday March 1

Golden West District Committee Meeting
Recurs monthly
Golden West District Commissioner's Cabinet
Recurs monthly
RSJ District Committee Meeting
Recurs monthly
First Day of Women's History Month

Observance
To hide observances, go to Google Calendar Settings > Holidays in United States

Monday March 6

Laylat al Bara’a, Islam
Purim

Wednesday March 8

Holi, Hindi

Thursday March 9

District Roundtables & Campcard Distribution

Sunday March 12

Daylight Saving Time starts

Observance
To hide observances, go to Google Calendar Settings > Holidays in United States

Tuesday March 14

Nanakshahi, Sikh

Friday March 17 – Sunday March 19

RSJ Camporee

Friday March 17 – Saturday March 18

O/A March Induction

Friday March 17

St. Patrick's Day

Observance
To hide observances, go to Google Calendar Settings > Holidays in United States

Wednesday March 22

RSJ District DInner

Thursday March 23

Pacifica Recognition Event

Friday March 24 – Sunday March 26

Pacifica Camporee

Friday March 24

Ramadan

Friday March 31 12:00 am – Sunday April 2 5:00 pm

Golden West Camporee

Friday March 31

Ramadan

April 2023

Sunday April 2 – Saturday April 8

Holy Week, Christian

Sunday April 2

Palm Sunday, Christian

Wednesday April 5

Passover, Jewish
Golden West District Committee Meeting
Recurs monthly
Golden West District Commissioner's Cabinet
Recurs monthly
RSJ District Committee Meeting
Recurs monthly

Friday April 7

Good Friday Office Closed
Ramadan

Sunday April 9 – Saturday April 15

Holy Week, Eastern Orthodox

Sunday April 9

Palm Sunday, Eastern Orthodox
Easter, Christian

Easter, Christian

Easter Sunday

Observance
To hide observances, go to Google Calendar Settings > Holidays in United States

Monday April 10

Easter Monday

Observance
To hide observances, go to Google Calendar Settings > Holidays in United States

Thursday April 13

District Roundtables
Recurs monthly

Friday April 14

Birth of Guru Nanak Sahib, Sikh
Holy Friday, Eastern Orthodox;
Khalsa Day, Sikh
Ramadan

Sunday April 16

Pascha, Eastern Orthodox

Tuesday April 18

Tax Day

Observance
To hide observances, go to Google Calendar Settings > Holidays in United States

Friday April 21 – Saturday April 22

Eid al Fitr, Islam

Friday April 21 – Sunday April 23

Saddleback Camporee

Friday April 21 – Sunday April 23

Valencia Camporee

Friday April 21

Ridvan, First Day, Baha’I

Friday April 28 – Sunday April 30

Canyons Zomboree

May 2023

Monday May 1

First Day of Asian Pacific American Heritage Month

Observance
To hide observances, go to Google Calendar Settings > Holidays in United States

Wednesday May 3

Golden West District Committee Meeting
Recurs monthly
Golden West District Commissioner's Cabinet
Recurs monthly
RSJ District Committee Meeting
Recurs monthly

Friday May 5

Cinco de Mayo

Observance
To hide observances, go to Google Calendar Settings > Holidays in United States

Thursday May 11

District Roundtables

Sunday May 14

Mother's Day

Observance
To hide observances, go to Google Calendar Settings > Holidays in United States

Friday May 19 – Sunday May 21

O/A May Induction

Thursday May 25 – Saturday May 27

Shavuot, Jewish

Monday May 29

Memorial Day Office Closed
Memorial Day

Public holiday

June 2023

Thursday June 1

First Day of LGBTQ+ Pride Month

Observance
To hide observances, go to Google Calendar Settings > Holidays in United States

Sunday June 4

Ghallughara Day, Sikh

Wednesday June 7

Golden West District Committee Meeting
Recurs monthly
Golden West District Commissioner's Cabinet
Recurs monthly
RSJ District Committee Meeting
Recurs monthly

Thursday June 8

District Roundtables & Campcard Turn In (FINAL)

Friday June 9 12:00 am – Sunday June 11 5:00 pm

O/A June Induction

Wednesday June 14

Flag Day

Observance
To hide observances, go to Google Calendar Settings > Holidays in United States

Friday June 16

Guru Arjan Sahib Martyrdom Day, Sikh

Sunday June 18

Father's Day

Observance
To hide observances, go to Google Calendar Settings > Holidays in United States

Monday June 19

Juneteenth Office Closed
Juneteenth

Public holiday

Wednesday June 28 – Thursday June 29

Eid al Adha, Islam

July 2023

Tuesday July 4

4th of July Office Closed
Independence Day

Public holiday

Wednesday July 5

Golden West District Committee Meeting
Recurs monthly
Golden West District Commissioner's Cabinet
Recurs monthly
RSJ District Committee Meeting
Recurs monthly

Saturday July 8

O/A Lodge BBQ

Thursday July 13

District Roundtables
Recurs monthly

Wednesday July 19 – Friday July 28

National Jamboree

Tuesday July 25 12:00 am – Wednesday July 26 5:00 pm

Tisha B’Av. Jewish

August 2023

Thursday August 3 – Saturday August 12

World Jamboree

Approval is required to calendar a Council Wide event.  A Council Wide event is any event that either intends to have participation from Scouts or Scouters across our Council or is intended for broad participation in your District.  Please contact NAME to schedule a Council Wide event.

ScoutWeek Signup Form